Typography
Color
Utilities
Custom CSS
Animations
Media Query
Infrastructure verte
Veux-tu travailler dans ce secteur ?
Commence par t'informer grâce aux ressources ci-dessous!
Introduction à l'infrastructure verte

Enjeux

L'urbanisation s'accélère à l'échelle mondiale, et on prévoit que le monde ajoutera un autre 2,5 milliards the gens qui se retrouvent dans les zones urbaines d'ici 2050. L'urbanisation non durable est une des les plus grands conducteurs of the dégradation of the environment, y comprend la perte de biodiversité, la surconsommation et l'augmentation de la demande d'énergie, la déforestation, la pollution de l'air et de l'eau, le stress et la rareté de l'eau, les déchets dangereux, and plus encore. Le développement de la dépendance à l'automobile dans de nombreuses régions est exacerbé urban étalement, qui est l'un des principaux facteurs de destruction et de fragmentation de l'habitat ainsi que de l'augmentation de la consommation d'énergie. The development axed on the vehicle account also of all Social conséquences, tel que l'isolement augmenté, le caractère inaccessible, la discrimination et la réégrégation, le déclin des petites entreprises et des mauvais résultats en matière de santé.

Solutions

Construire des villes plus durables, inclusives et vivables est un impératif pour le développement humain. Bâtiment infrastructure verte is the a of stratégies les plus importantes pour ramener la nature in the villes, in used solutions climatiques fondées sur la nature Promouvoir l'adaptation et la résilience aux conditions météorologiques, tout en rétablissant les écosystèmes et en profitant positivement à la santé humaine. À titre d'exemple, Vie Lame's the project est une initiative novatrice visant à reconstruire les récifs d'huîtres the long de la côte de la ville de New York, en contribuant à accroître la résilience aux tempêtes, à reconstruire les écosystèmes locaux et à éliminer la pollution toxique grâce à la filtration naturelle de l'eau. New York est également en mesure de : 1,5 milliard de dollars économiser in Protégeant the versant catSkills in amont for assurer l'approvisionnement en eau de la ville, ainsi que les usines de traitement de l'eau coutante.

Il y a un mouvement appelé nouvel urbanism qui vise à passer d'une urbanisation non durable à une approche plus humaine de la planification et du développement des collectivités et des villes. Les nouvelles approches urbanistes comprennent le zonage à usage mixte, le développement axé sur le transport en commun, la connectivité, le transport en commun actif, le logement accessible, l'accessibilité à pied et des concepts comme la ville de 15 minutes. Une autre solution clé pour promouvoir des villes durables est la décarbonisation de l'environnement bâti, qui représente près de 40 % émissions mondiales de carbone liées à l'énergie. Immergations in the profonde energy and the électrification of pompes à chaleur est deux solutions qui connaissent la croissance la plus rapide.

Plus de ressources
Learn More
Programmes, formations et événements
Politiques et organisations
Organisations
  • Conseil mondial du bâtiment écologique — Le World Green Building Council est un réseau mondial d'organisations qui s'efforce de stimuler la transformation de l'industrie du bâtiment et de la construction vers la durabilité par le biais de la défense des intérêts, de la collaboration et de la mise en œuvre de pratiques et de normes de construction écologiques.
  • Urbanarium Urbanarium est un organisme à but non lucratif à Vancouver, au Canada, qui se consacre à promouvoir la compréhension et l'engagement public à l'égard des questions urbaines par l'éducation, les événements et la défense des intérêts, dans le but de favoriser la prise de décision éclairée et de créer des villes plus plaisantes à vivre.
  • C40 Villes — C40 Cities est un réseau de plus grandes villes du monde engagé à prendre des mesures audacieuses contre les changements climatiques en collaborant à des initiatives visant à réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et à accroître la durabilité urbaine.
  • Coalition pour les transitions urbaines — La Coalition pour les transitions urbaines est une initiative mondiale qui soutient les dirigeants et les dirigeants municipaux dans la transition vers un développement urbain durable, sobre in carbon and inclusif grâce aux efforts de recherche, de plaidoyer et de renforcement des capacités.
  • Plateforme mondiale pour les villes durables — La Plateforme mondiale pour les villes durables est une initiative collaborative qui favorise l'échange de connaissances, le renforcement des talents et les partenariats entre les villes du monde entier pour promouvoir le développement urbain durable et les objectifs de développement durable (ODD).
  • Conseil canadien du bâtiment écologique — Le Conseil canadien du bâtiment vert (CCGBC) est un organisme sans but lucratif qui s'engage à faire progresser les pratiques de construction écologique et la conception durable partout au Canada au Canada au Canada au moyen de programmes de certification, de plaidoyer et d'éducation, mais de promouvoir la responsabilité environnementale au sein de l'industrie du bâtiment.
  • Réseau More Neighbours — More Neighbours est un réseau de voix favorables au logement provenant de tous les horizons politiques qui s'engagent à contrebalancer le programme anti-logement qui domine la politique et qui a créé une crise de l'abordabilité dans l'ensemble du spectre des revenus.
  • Le Congrès du Nouvel Urbanisme (CNU) — Le Congrés for the New Urbanism est un organisme à but non lucratif qui se consacre à la promotion de la conception et du développement de communautés piétonnes à usage mixte, durables, socialement dynamiques et économiquement résilients, défendant les principes de l'urbanisme traditionnel et de la croissance active.
  • Réseau national de droit — Le Réseau national du droit au logement est une coalition d'organisations et de défenseurs qui travaille pour promouvoir le logement en tant que droit fondamental de la personne et promouvoir les politiques et les initiatives visant à assurer l'accès à des logements sûrs, rables et adéquats pour tous les Canadiens.

Existing policies
Principales initiatives de politique publique
  • Investir dans le Canada : Plan d'infrastructure à long terme du Canada Ce plan est une initiative gouvernementale visant à moderniser et améliorer l'infrastructure du pays au moyen d'investissements stratégiques dans les domaines comme les transports, l'énergie verte, la large bande et l'infrastructure sociale, en mettant l'accent sur la croissance économique, la création d'emplois et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des Canadiens.
  • Financement de Ressources naturelles Canada pour les Habitations plus écologiques L'Initiative canadienne pour les maisons plus écologiques est un programme gouvernemental destiné à aider les propriétaires à apporter des progrès écoénergétiques à leur maison en accord avec les subventions pour les mesures comme isolement, les systèmes de chauffage et les systèmes de chauffage, in the gas to serre Effect et améliorer l'efficacité énergétique partout au Canada.
  • Chauffement des batiments — L'Institut canadien du climat a projet de recherches sur les voies optimales pour obtenir le zéro net dans le secteur des bâtiments, et comprendre le rôle qui jouera de l'électrification des bâtiments, des carburants de remplacement et des réseaux gaziers existants.
  • Codes de bâtiment — Recherche d'Efficacité Canada sur le processus canadien du processus canadien de Bâtiment afin d'atteindre l'Objectif de zéro émission nette.
  • Fait le changement Mise the Shift est une initiative de plaidoyer dirigée par le Rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur le droit au logement, Leilani Farha, visant à faire face à la crise mondiale du logement en tant que droit humain et en promouvant des politiques qui font la priorité à un logement accessible et convenable pour tous.

New policy initiatives
Pétitions
  • Trousse d'outils pour une croissance intelligente — La trousse d'outils pour la croissance intelligente d'Environmental Defence est une ressource complète conçue pour aider les collectivités, les planificateurs et les décideurs à promouvoir des pratiques de développement durable qui donnent la priorité à l'utilisation efficace des terres, au transport en commun, à la marchabilité et à la conservation de l'environnement, dans le but de créer des collectivités habitables et résilientes partout au Canada.
  • Arrêtez l'étalement — Cette pétition demande que les députés de l'Ontario prennent des mesures pour donner la priorité aux intérêts des personnes et de l'environnement par rapport à ceux des spéculateurs immobiliers, en répondant à des préoccupations telles que les politiques favorisant l'étalement, l'affaiblissement des protections environnementales et la promotion de pratiques de développement non durable.
  • Mettre fin à l'étalement urbain dans la ceinture de verdure de l'Ontario — Cette pétition exhorte le gouvernement provincial de l'Ontario à mettre fin à l'étalement urbain au sein de la ceinture de verdure de l'Ontario, plaidant pour la préservation de ces terres environnementales et agricoles vitales afin de protéger contre les pratiques de développement non durable et de protéger la biodiversité de la région.
  • Arrêter l'autoroute 413 — Cette pétition demande au gouvernement provincial de l'Ontario d'annuler l'autoroute 413, en invoquant des préoccupations au sujet de son impact négatif sur l'environnement, les terres agricoles, les objectifs climatiques et les espèces en voie de disparition, ainsi que des soupçons de profiter aux promoteurs bien connectés aux frais des contribuables.

Postes de bénévolat

Avis de non-responsabilité : cette liste comprend à la fois les organisations qui recrutent activement des bénévoles ainsi que les organisations qui n'ont PAS de postes vacants actuels.
Veuillez suivre leur bulletin d'information et leurs activités sociales pour être informé lorsque des opportunités se présenteront !

Nom de l'entreprise
Postes vacants
Lieu
Site Web
Toronto Environmental Alliance
Toronto
Canada Green Building Council

Multiple Committee Positions

Nationwide
Efficiency Canada

Become a Regional Champion Volunteer

Nationwide
Green Communities Canada

Volunteer Opportunities with GCC Members

Nationwide
Depave Paradise

Multiple

Peterborough, ON
Engineers Without Borders

Join a Chapter

Nationwide
Future Ground Network

Multiple

Nationwide
Re:wild

Re:Wild Your Campus Volunteer

Nationwide
Citizen’s Climate Lobby Canada

Multiple

Nationwide
Village Vancouver Transition Society

Multiple

Vancouver

Affichage d'emplois

Avis de non-responsabilité : Certaines organisations figurant sur cette liste n'ont pas le développement durable comme objectif principal, mais elles ont été incluses parce qu'elles ont un engagement fort et une reconnaissance pour leurs efforts. Pour ces organisations, seuls les postes vacants contribuant directement à des initiatives en durabilité seront répertoriés.

Organisation
Positions ouvertes (cliquez pour filtrer) ↓
Type d'organisation
Emplacement ↓
À distance
Site Web
SES Consulting

No known openings

Private Sector
British Columbia
Remote (Canada), Hybrid, In Office
Link
Youthful Cities
Civil Society
Ontario
Unknown
Link
Halifax Regional Municipality
Public Sector
Nova Scotia
Hyrbid
Link
City of Winnipeg
Public Sector
Manitoba
Hybrid
Link
Ressources de perfectionnement professionnel
Entrevues sur les conseils de carrière
Bientôt disponible
Tirer parti de LinkedIn
  • Explorez le Green Career Centre Guide de maximisation LinkedIn
  • Lisez les influenceurs du développement durable LinkedIn du Green Career Centre pour suivre les articles de 2022 et 2023.
  • Nous recommandons également nous suivre sur LinkedIn, où nous partageons régulièrement des occasions, des ressources et des nouvelles liées à l'économie propre.
Réseautage et préparation aux entrevues
Ressources de recherche d'emploi

Typography
Color
Utilities
Custom CSS
Animations
Media Query
Green Infrastructure
Want to work in this sector?
Start by learning more with the resources below!
Introduction to Green Infrastructure

Issues

Urbanization is accelerating globally, with the world projected to add another 2.5 billion people to urban areas by 2050. Unsustainable urbanization is one of the largest drivers of environmental degradation, including biodiversity loss, overconsumption and higher energy demand, deforestation, air and water pollution, water stress and scarcity, hazardous waste, and more. Car-dependent development in many regions has exacerbated urban sprawl, which is one of the largest drivers of habitat destruction and fragmentation as well as increased energy use. Car-dependent development also has many negative social consequences, such as increased isolation, unaffordability, discrimination and resegregation, the decline of small businesses, and poor health outcomes. 

Solutions

Building more sustainable, inclusive, and liveable cities is an imperative for human development. Building green infrastructure is one of the most important strategies for bringing nature back into cities, using nature-based climate solutions to promote adaptation and resilience to extreme weather while also restoring ecosystems and positively benefiting human health. As one example, the Living Breakwaters project is an innovative initiative to rebuild oyster reefs along the coast of New York City, helping increase resilience to storm events, restore local ecosystems, and remediate toxic pollution through natural water filtration. New York was also able to save $1.5 billion by protecting the upstream Catskills watershed to secure the city’s water supply, thus avoiding expensive water treatment plants.

There is a movement called new urbanism which aims to move away from unsustainable urbanization to a more human-focused approach to the planning and development of communities and cities. New urbanist approaches include mixed-use zoning, transit-oriented development, connectivity, active transit, affordable housing, walkability, and concepts like the 15-minute city. Another key solution to promote sustainable cities is the decarbonization of the built environment, which accounts for nearly 40% of global energy-related carbon emissions. Deep energy retrofits and electrification through the use of heat pumps are two of the fastest-growing solutions.

Resources to
Learn More
Programs, Trainings, and Events
Policies and Organizations
Organizations
  • World Green Building Council – The World Green Building Council is a global network of organizations working to drive the transformation of the building and construction industry towards sustainability through advocacy, collaboration, and implementation of green building practices and standards.
  • Urbanarium – Urbanarium is a non-profit organization based in Vancouver, Canada, dedicated to promoting public understanding and engagement with urban issues through education, events, and advocacy, aiming to foster informed decision-making and create more livable cities.
  • C40 Cities – C40 Cities is a network of the world's largest cities committed to taking bold action against climate change by collaborating on initiatives to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and increase urban sustainability.
  • Coalition for Urban Transitions – The Coalition for Urban Transitions is a global initiative that supports city leaders and policymakers in transitioning to sustainable, low-carbon, and inclusive urban development through research, advocacy, and capacity-building efforts.
  • Global Platform for Sustainable Cities – The Global Platform for Sustainable Cities is a collaborative initiative that facilitates knowledge exchange, capacity building, and partnerships among cities worldwide to promote sustainable urban development and achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
  • Canadian Green Building Council – The Canadian Green Building Council (CaGBC) is a non-profit organization committed to advancing green building practices and sustainable design across Canada through certification programs, advocacy, and education, with the goal of promoting environmental responsibility within the building industry.
  • More Neighbours Network – More Neighbours is a network of pro-housing voices from across the political spectrum that are committed to counterbalancing the anti-housing agenda that dominates politics and has created an affordability crisis across the income spectrum.
  • The Congress for New Urbanism (CNU) – The Congress for New Urbanism is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the design and development of walkable, mixed-use communities that are sustainable, socially vibrant, and economically resilient, advocating for principles of traditional urbanism and smart growth.
  • National Right to Housing Network – The National Right to Housing Network is a coalition of organizations and advocates working to promote housing as a fundamental human right and to advance policies and initiatives aimed at ensuring access to safe, affordable, and adequate housing for all Canadians.

Existing policies
Key Policy Initiatives
  • Investing in Canada: Canada's Long-Term Infrastructure Plan – This plan is a government initiative aimed at modernizing and improving the country's infrastructure through strategic investments in areas such as transportation, green energy, broadband, and social infrastructure, with a focus on fostering economic growth, creating jobs, and enhancing quality of life for Canadians.
  • Natural Resources Canada Greener Homes Grant – The Canada Greener Homes Initiative is a government program designed to help homeowners make energy-efficient upgrades to their homes by providing grants for measures such as insulation, windows, and heating systems, aiming to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and improve energy efficiency across Canada.
  • Building Heat – The Canadian Climate Institute has started research on optimal pathways to reaching net zero in the buildings sector, including what role building electrification, alternate fuels, and existing gas networks will play.
  • Building Codes – Efficiency Canada’s research on strengthening Canada’s Building Code Process to achieve net-zero emissions.
  • Make the Shift – Make the Shift is an advocacy initiative led by UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Housing Leilani Farha aimed at addressing the global housing crisis by advocating for housing as a human right and promoting policies that prioritize affordable and adequate housing for all.
New policy initiatives
Petitions
  • Smart Growth Toolkit – The Smart Growth Toolkit by Environmental Defence is a comprehensive resource designed to assist communities, planners, and policymakers in promoting sustainable development practices that prioritize efficient land use, public transit, walkability, and environmental conservation, aiming to create livable and resilient communities across Canada.
  • Stop the Sprawl – This petition calls for action from Ontario's MPPs to prioritize the interests of people and the environment over those of real estate speculators, by addressing concerns such as sprawl-inducing policies, weakening environmental protections, and favouring unsustainable development practices.
  • Stop Urban Sprawl in the Ontario Greenbelt – This petition urges the Ontario provincial government to halt urban sprawl within the Ontario Greenbelt, advocating for the preservation of this vital environmental and agricultural land to safeguard against unsustainable development practices and protect the region's biodiversity.
  • Stop Highway 413 – This petition calls on the Ontario provincial government to cancel Highway 413, citing concerns about its negative impact on the environment, agricultural land, climate goals, and endangered species, as well as suspicions of benefiting well-connected developers at taxpayer expense.

Volunteer Positions

Disclaimer: this list includes both organizations that are actively recruiting volunteers as well as organizations that do NOT have current openings.
Please follow their newsletter and socials to be informed when opportunities become available!

Name of Company
Open Positions
Location
Website
Toronto Environmental Alliance
Toronto
Canada Green Building Council

Multiple Committee Positions

Nationwide
Efficiency Canada

Become a Regional Champion Volunteer

Nationwide
Green Communities Canada

Volunteer Opportunities with GCC Members

Nationwide
Depave Paradise

Multiple

Peterborough, ON
Engineers Without Borders

Join a Chapter

Nationwide
Future Ground Network

Multiple

Nationwide
Re:wild

Re:Wild Your Campus Volunteer

Nationwide
Citizen’s Climate Lobby Canada

Multiple

Nationwide
Village Vancouver Transition Society

Multiple

Vancouver

Job Board

Disclaimer: Certain organizations on this list don't have sustainability as their core purpose, but they have been included because they have strong commitments and recognition for their efforts. For these organizations, only open positions directly contributing to sustainability initiatives or departments will be listed.

Organization
Open Positions
Type of Organization
Location ↓
Remote
Website
Acacia Engineering
Private Sector
Alberta
Unknown
Link
SES Consulting

No known openings

Private Sector
British Columbia
Remote (Canada), Hybrid, In Office
Link
Réseau Environnement

No known openings

Civil Society
Quebec
Unknown
Link
Youthful Cities
Civil Society
Ontario
Unknown
Link
Halifax Regional Municipality
Public Sector
Nova Scotia
Hyrbid
Link
Career Development Resources
Career Advice Interviews
Coming soon
Leveraging LinkedIn
  • Explore Green Career Centre’s LinkedIn Maximization Guide
  • Read through Green Career Centre’s LinkedIn Sustainability Influencers to Follow articles from 2022 and 2023.  
  • We also recommend following us on LinkedIn, where we regularly share opportunities, resources, and news related to the clean economy.
Networking & Interview Prep
Job Search Resources
  • This report provides a helpful toolkit, case studies, and tips for BIPOC/BAME youth to develop self-knowledge, prepare for job hunting, increase their competence, build sustainability experience, and nurture well-being.
  • Visit Green Career Centre’s Job Application Tracker to manage your applications, update progress, and interview prep. 
  • Check out GoodWork's Job Search Tips & Resources for proactive strategies to find and land the right opportunity.
  • Many job search experts agree that most jobs belong to the hidden job market. To learn about navigating this, read Hidden Sustainability Jobs and Tapping the Hidden Job Market.